My Sacred Place

I have this fantasy where I own a cozy coffee shop in our small hometown, and I roast my own beans, and have a plethora of miscellaneous mugs, and a small fire place, and my dog comes in with me and lies on the rug. I serve a small assortment of pastries, sandwiches and yesterday’s soup. It’s a haven for people who want to come in and think, surf the net, write, connect.

There are places like this everywhere. It’s not an innovative concept. But I guess it’s my vision of peace and comfort, and productivity.

Currently, I am a mid-level successful executive, working 55-60 hours a week. I work hard, it’s fast paced, and sometimes relentless. But I also understand the importance of growing and representing women in executive roles – even more so, moms in executive roles.  Teaching my daughter that she can do and be whatever she wants. Teaching my son that he can do and be whatever he wants, while collaborating with and supporting women in the work force.

But right now, I am just so tired.

I don’t really feel the tug to drink (other than coffee), but with the amount of stress and exhaustion, I hold onto my vision, and retreat to my inner coffee shop, when I need a break from it all. It’s a sacred place in my soul that I hang on to.

2 thoughts on “My Sacred Place

  1. That sounds lovely.
    I’ve been an executive mom. It is not an easy path.

    If you decide you want something else it’s isn’t teaching you kids anything except follow your dreams. After all, they will probably not do what we do anyways.

    Hug. Wine only adds to the exhaustion.
    Anne

    Like

    1. Thank you Anne. ❤️ At this point options are minimal, but I’m working toward opening the door as soon as it’s feasible.

      Like

Leave a Reply

